Posted by: Scotty | October 2, 2009

Munich, Germany trip!

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when thinking of Oktoberfest? Probably the beer right? That’s what I thought too until I actually experienced Oktoberfest for myself. The festival was more than just beer drinking, but a cultural gathering of great German music, traditional costumes and food! It reminded me a lot of the State Fair back home.

Munich, Germany was a ton of fun! We visited the Hofbraühaus and it was probably my favorite place, it’s this huge mansion in the heart of Munich, there is just a ton of traditional German culture you get to see, especially since we visited during Oktoberfest. They had these guys stand on 4 tables across the room and made music by cracking a whip to one another, so cool.

Two of us from UND and another two from ACT traveled. I met up with another friend from UND who is studying at the University of Regensburg. I thought it was really cool to meet up with another student from UND and share our study abroad experiences.

I used to think that people from other countries were so different from you and I, but traveling around I have noticed people from around the world enjoy many of the same things we do, just in a different way.

This weekend I’m going on a sailing trip in Thessaloniki for the first time, can’t wait!

Untill next time…

-Scotty out!

Leave a Reply

Categories

