Posted by: Scotty | December 10, 2009

I never thought…

I cannot believe how fast the semester has gone by. It seems like just yesterday I was moving in the apartments on Panepistimiou Street, exploring around town and making new friends. The other day we went out for our last “Taverna Tuesday” dinner with the Kalis Elpidos building and everyone shared their favorite stories of the semester. It got me thinking of some things I never thought I was going to experience abroad…

I never thought in my freshman year at UND I would be studying abroad for a semester in Greece my senior year.

I never thought I would walk into that place that looks like a house on campus and ask about studying abroad.

I never thought I would get a student visa.

I never thought how amazing languages truly are, until I traveled around Europe.

I never thought I would meet so many students from around the world.

I never thought we would become such good friends.

I never thought we would be traveling to so many countries.

I never thought how much people have in common, yet at times, how easily one can feel like an outsider.

I never thought we would go through culture shock together.

I never thought how Skype, Facebook and blogs can connect so many lives, anywhere, for FREE!

I never thought a gyros stuffed with chicken, tzatziki, tomatoes, onions, french fries, ketchup and mustard could taste so good.

I never thought vehicles could be allowed to drive and park on city sidewalks, grass, trails–anything is game!

I never thought I would just go out for a cup of coffee with friends and have random four hour conversations about living life, ethics, politics and Greece/Europe/United States comparisons.

I never thought how passionate and proud citizens are of their home country, including cheering for their football team.

I never thought how nice and welcoming Greek, Dutch, Serbian and Turkish (visited while studying) people could be.

I never thought I would learn so much about myself, others–the world.

I never thought how many things I took for granted living in the U.S.

I never thought my perspective of the world would change so much.

I never thought how the time goes by so fast.

I never thought we could make so many memories.

I never thought I would be writing this,

I never thought how hard it would be to say goodbye.

This is the last official week of classes for study abroad students at ACT. I’ll be here until the 23rd so I plan on attending classes with the Greek students until I leave. I’ll keep yall updated.

Until next time…

-Scotty out!

Leave a Reply

Categories

